To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Ferris, Smith

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 598 (As Adopted by Senate)

1	A CC	NCURRENT	RESOLUTION	COMMENDING	THE	MEMBERS	OF	PHI	THETA
2	72 7 D D 7 1 C 7	TT MTGGTC	ICTDDT ACADE		T 00115	1 0007070	\\T (N 17.7	

- 2 KAPPA'S ALL-MISSISSIPPI ACADEMIC TEAM ON THE OCCASION OF 3 "MISSISSIPPI PHI THETA KAPPA DAY."
- WHEREAS, March 24, 1999, marks the occasion of "Mississippi
- 5 Phi Theta Kappa Day, " an appropriate time for the Legislature of
- 6 the State of Mississippi to recognize and salute Phi Theta Kappa,
- 7 the esteemed honor society for community and junior colleges,
- 8 which has its international headquarters located in Jackson,
- 9 Mississippi; and
- 10 WHEREAS, special commendations are extended to the
- 11 outstanding scholars who comprise Phi Theta Kappa's
- 12 All-Mississippi Academic Team, a team of highly successful
- 13 community and junior college students assembled by the Mississippi
- 14 State Community and Junior College Board to participate in the Phi
- 15 Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team competition; and
- 16 WHEREAS, the following students have been recognized as
- 17 members of the 1999 All-Mississippi Academic Team:
- 18 <u>First Team</u>
- 19 Kori Brabham, Southwest MS Community College
- 20 Margie Cook, Hinds Community College Vicksburg Campus
- 21 Judy Hession, Jones County Junior College
- 22 Stephanie Hood, Holmes Community College Grenada Campus
- 23 Jeremy Martin, Itawamba Community College Fulton Campus
- 24 Annette Parker, Northwest MS Community College Senatobia Campus
- 25 James Rawson, Meridian Community College
- 26 Garveate Ray, East MS Community College Golden Triangle Campus

- 27 Jessica Rushing, MS Gulf Coast Community College Jackson County
- 28 Campus
- 29 Brandon Volner, Northeast MS Community College
- 30 <u>Honorable Mention</u>
- 31 Melanie Barclay, East MS Community College Golden Triangle
- 32 Campus
- 33 Linda Benjamin, Itawamba Community College
- 34 Jed Bishop, Copiah-Lincoln Community College Wesson Campus
- 35 Amanda Boone, Pearl River Community College Poplarville Campus
- 36 Shirley Brazzie, MS Gulf Coast Community College Jackson County
- 37 Campus
- 38 Barbara Brown, Itawamba Community College Tupelo Campus
- 39 Christopher Coats, Northeast MS Community College
- 40 Rhonda Cordell, MS Delta Community College
- 41 Cody Cox, Holmes Community College Goodman Campus
- 42 Laurie Davis, Hinds Community College Nursing Allied Campus
- 43 Stacy Davis, Hinds Community College Utica Campus
- 44 Ouida Dobson, Copiah-Lincoln Community College Natchez Campus
- 45 Uwe Dotzauer, East Central Community College Decatur Campus
- 46 Ryan Dyer, Holmes Community College Ridgeland Campus
- 47 Jennifer Ewing, MS Gulf Coast Community College Jefferson Davis
- 48 Campus
- 49 Jennifer Ezelle, East MS Community College Scooba Campus
- 50 Angel Flores, Coahoma Community College
- 51 Anthony Flowers, Hinds Community College Rankin Campus
- 52 Kristi Gallaway, Holmes Community College Goodman Campus
- 53 Antoinette Gooden, Hinds Community College Jackson Center Campus
- 54 Laural Green, MS Gulf Coast Community College Perkinston Campus
- 55 Larry Green, MS Gulf Coast Community College Perkinston Campus
- 56 Kim Hamilton, Hinds Community College Vicksburg Campus
- 57 Rachael Hampton, Hinds Community College Raymond Campus
- 58 Jeffrey Hansford, East Central Community College Decatur Campus
- 59 Brian Hoffman, Hinds Community College Pearl Campus

- 60 Rebecca Horn, MS Delta Community College
- 61 Michelle Jimerson, MS Gulf Coast Community College Jefferson
- 62 Davis Campus
- 63 Nixon Leonard, Mary Holmes College West Point Campus
- 64 Curtis Liles, Holmes Community College Grenada Campus
- 65 Praxedes Maldonado, Mary Holmes College West Point Campus
- 66 Chrissy Martin, Pearl River Community College Poplarville Campus
- 67 Damian Mercier, Hinds Community College Nursing Allied Campus
- 68 Melissa Myers, Pearl River Community College Forrest County
- 69 Campus
- 70 Amy Neely, Holmes Community College Ridgeland Campus
- 71 James Parker, East MS Community College Scooba Campus
- 72 Celia Powers, Jones County Junior College
- 73 Rebecca Revels, Southwest MS Community College
- 74 Timur Sadihov, Northwest MS Community College Senatobia Campus
- 75 Renita Shaw, Coahoma Community College
- 76 Bradley Sibley, Hinds Community College Raymond Campus
- 77 Jane Stansell, Pearl River Community College Forrest County
- 78 Campus
- 79 Yttric Towers, Hinds Community College Utica Campus
- 80 Wanda Turner, Hinds Community College Jackson Center Campus
- 81 Billie Warren, Copiah-Lincoln Community College Wesson Campus
- 82 Ellen Williams, Wood College Mathiston Campus
- 83 Joshua Wooten, Meridian Community College
- 84 Kelly Wray, Itawamba Community College Tupelo Campus; and
- WHEREAS, to be chosen as a member of Phi Theta Kappa's
- 86 All-Mississippi Academic Team, these students must demonstrate
- 87 impressive intellect, outstanding leadership and a determination
- 88 to achieving academic excellence; and
- 89 WHEREAS, the praiseworthy and devoted efforts of the members
- 90 of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team have earned for
- 91 them and their academic institutions the respect and admiration of
- 92 the Legislature and of the citizenry of this state:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MISSISSIPPI STATE 93 SENATE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we 94 95 hereby honor and congratulate Phi Theta Kappa and the members of Phi Theta Kappa's All-American Academic Team, and commend the team 96 97 members' outstanding competitive spirit as evidenced by their accomplishments. 98 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a duly authenticated copy of 99 100 this resolution be presented to members of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team on the occasion of "Mississippi Phi 101 102 Theta Kappa Day," be forwarded to the State Board for Community 103 and Junior Colleges and be made available to the Capitol Press

104

Corps.